Menu
BestVs ghost tourReviewsBefore you bookAt a glanceFrom BostonOctoberWorkshopsFAQ 4.45 (208) · from $35Check dates

Salem Witch Tours

12 walks from $10 through the places of 1692 — the Memorial, Charter Street, the Witch House, Proctor’s Ledge, Salem Village; walks differ by which of the five they actually reach. 6 day trips from Boston and 4 workshops. Night walks live on our sister site. Prices checked 23 Sep 2026
HOW MUCH OF THE DAY DO YOU HAVE?
DAYLIGHT · Sep 23
6:32 am6:38 pm12 h 06 min
6 am
9
noon
3
6 pm
9
2 h walk · 10 am – 12 pm
Ends with 6 h 38 min of daylight to sparenight walks & haunts live on our sister site
OUR PICK1692 walks
Secrets of Salem Hidden History Walking Tour
2 hours · 9 stops · meets 210 Essex St · 4.45 (208 reviews)
from
$35
per person
Check dates
Stops at Charter Street Cemetery · Free cancellation 24 h
See all 12 walks
The Witch House on Essex Street: black clapboard, teal door, leaded windows
Which 1692 sites this walk reaches
1 of 5
Memorialthe 20 granite benches, 1992
not stated by operator
Charter Streetburying point, 1637
✓ visits
Witch Housethe judge’s home, still standing
not stated by operator
Proctor’s Ledgewhere the hangings happened
not stated by operator
Salem Villagewhere it began · in Danvers
✕ does not go

“Not stated” = the operator doesn’t list it. Walks differ mostly by how many of the five they reach.

BestVs ghost tourReviewsBefore you bookAt a glanceFrom BostonOctoberWorkshopsFAQ 4.45 (208) · from $35Check dates
If you don’t want to compare — take this one

Best Salem Witch Tours

Twelve guided and self-guided walks go through Salem, MA on GetYourGuide, and they differ less by price than by where they actually stop. Our default pick is Secrets of Salem Hidden History Walking Tour: two hours, nine stops, a start outside the Salem Five bank at 210 Essex Street, and 208 reviews at 4.45 — the second-largest count of any walk in town. It confirms Charter Street, the burying point where Judge John Hathorne lies.

If that is not your afternoon, three alternatives cover the usual constraints: the one-hour Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts walk (4.61 from 150 reviews) when time is short, the Witch Trial Walking Tour when you travel with children (the only walk the partner marks “suitable for all ages”), and the From Boston day trip when you have no car — it is the only listing on this site that includes Salem Witch Museum entry.

Guide and guests at the memorial bench
BEST OVERALL1692 walks
Secrets of Salem Hidden History Walking Tour

Why this one: Nine stops in two hours, Charter Street confirmed, meets on Essex St — and 208 reviews, the second-largest count in Salem.

2 hours9 stops210 Essex St
1/5 sitesCharter St
from
$35
per person
4.45 (208 reviews)
Book this walk
Stops at Charter Street Cemetery
Free cancellation · 24 h Pay later
OR, IF THAT ISN’T YOUSee the full ranking
SHORT ON TIME
1692 walksWitch Trial History and Salem Haunts Walking Tour
One of the two one-hour walks; the Memorial; history and haunts.
4.61 (150)from $29
Check dates
WITH KIDS
1692 walksWitch Trial Walking Tour
Partner marks it “all ages”; three of the five sites, the joint most.
4.32 (40)from $29.99
Check dates
COMING FROM BOSTON
from BostonFrom Boston: Salem Witch Trials History Tour
One day, no car, back for dinner — the only trip with museum entry.
4.83 (31)from $190
Check dates
Check dates · Secrets of SalemGetYourGuide

Booking links go to GetYourGuide. We earn a commission; the price you pay does not change. Affiliate disclosure

Two different walks share one word — here is how to tell them apart

Salem Witch Tour vs Ghost Tour

A salem witch tour vs ghost tour is a choice between two different products that share one word. A witch trials walk tells the history of 1692 at the places where it happened — the Memorial on Liberty Street, the Charter Street burying point, the house of Judge Jonathan Corwin — and it runs in daylight. A ghost walk is an evening format built around legends and “haunted” houses; this site does not rank ghost walks, our sister site does.

Witch trials walk
WHAT
History of 1692 told at the places where it happened
WHEN
Daytime, all year
WHERE IT GOES
Memorial · Charter Street · Witch House; Proctor’s Ledge only on day trips from Boston
PRICE
$25–80 per person
WHO
Anyone who wants the story straight; families; first visits
This site
Ghost walk
WHAT
Hauntings, legends, a lantern — entertainment first
WHEN
After dark, mostly Sep–Nov
WHERE IT GOES
Old Burying Point, taverns, “haunted” houses
PRICE
compared on our sister site
WHO
Groups of adults; anyone here for the mood, not the record
THE THIRD WAY · HISTORY AND HAUNTS
TOP RATED1692 walks
1692 walks
Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts Walking Tour
1 hstops not statedNot Ya Mama's Vegan Cafe
1/5 sitesMemorial
4.61 (150)
Wheelchair ok
from
$29
per person
Book this walk
Top rated of walks with 100+ reviews · Free cancellation 24 h
What people said after walking

Salem Witch Tours Reviews

Ratings below always come with their review count, because a 5.0 from four people and a 4.45 from 208 are not the same signal. Quotes are short extracts from GetYourGuide reviews, shown with the reviewer’s first name and the month they walked.

The three walks with the most reviews, each with two recent quotes from its own reviewers.

4.23
364 reviews on GetYourGuide
“We did multiple tours while in Salem, and this was the best tour by far!”
Cheryl · Oct 2025
“Our tour guide was very knowledgeable of the witch trials and it was great having the opportunity to listen to the history as we wandered around the town.”
Catherine · Oct 2025
from $25Check dates
4.45
208 reviews on GetYourGuide
“It was as if we had our own private tour guide from a local.”
Stefan · Jun 2026
“Mason was extremely knowledgeable and was able to share insight from his own family history in Salem.”
Joshua · Mar 2026
from $35Check dates
4.61
150 reviews on GetYourGuide
“Chris was outstanding, very knowledgeable and passionate about his subject and town.”
David · Sep 2026
“I really appreciate her bearing with us on such a rainy day.”
Juan · Sep 2026
from $29Check dates
Reviews come from GetYourGuide · quotes shown as published · names as the reviewer chose
Rain, kids, cancellation, wheelchairs — the four things people ask before paying

Before You Book Salem Witch Tours

Rain
Every walk that states a weather policy runs rain or shine.
Full answer in FAQ →
Kids

One walk is marked “all ages” by the partner; one is 21+; under-fives can’t ride the Boston coach.

Full answer in FAQ →
Cancellation
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before on all 22 products — checked 23 Sep 2026.
Full answer in FAQ →
Wheelchairs & miles
One walk says “not suitable for wheelchair users”; three say the route is a mile or more.
Full answer in FAQ →
Three steps, ticket on your phone

How to Book Salem Witch Tours

1
Choose here
Compare the twelve; read the honest minus under each.
2
Check the date
The partner calendar opens on this page — no redirect until you pick.
3
Ticket on your phone
GetYourGuide sends it; show it to the guide at the meeting point.

Booking links go to GetYourGuide. We earn a commission; the price you pay does not change. Affiliate disclosure

Check dates for our pick
Every walk in one table — sort by what matters to you

Salem Witch Tours at a Glance

This is every witch tour Salem has on GetYourGuide at the 23 September 2026 check: eleven guided walks and one self-guided audio route, plus our own free route for comparison. The salem witch tours Salem MA visitors can book start from nine different places — most within a few minutes of Essex Street, one at the train station and one in Danvers, where Salem Village stood in 1692.

The column that matters most is “Sites of 1692”. It counts which of the five places — the Memorial, Charter Street, the Witch House, Proctor’s Ledge and Salem Village — each operator names in its own listing. “Not stated” means the operator is silent, not that the walk avoids the place.

TOUR · FAMILYTIMEMEETSSITES OF 1692VERDICTRATING ↓FROMACCESS · BOOK
2 h
210 Essex St
1/5 sitesCharter St
Nine stops in two hours, from Essex Street
4.45 (208)
$35
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Not wheelchair · Not for limited mobility · Rain or shine · 1+ mile
Stops at Charter Street Cemetery · Free cancellation 24 h
1.5 h
8 Central St
1692 sites · not stated by operator
The most reviewed walk in Salem: 364 reviews, $25
4.23 (364)
$25
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Wheelchair ok · Rain or shine · 1+ mile
The most reviewed walk in Salem · Free cancellation 24 h
1 h
Not Ya Mama's Vegan Cafe
1/5 sitesMemorial
One hour with the Memorial; 4.61 from 150 reviews
4.61 (150)
$29
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Wheelchair ok
Top rated of walks with 100+ reviews · Free cancellation 24 h
2 h
210 Essex St
1/5 sitesMemorial
Two hours, ends at the Memorial; rated 3.91
3.91 (78)
$35
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Not for limited mobility · Rain or shine · 1+ mile
Stops at the Witch Trials Memorial · Free cancellation 24 h
1.5 h
not published by the operator
3/5 sitesMemorialCharter StWitch House · outside
Three of the five 1692 sites in 90 minutes
4.32 (40)
$29.99
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Wheelchair ok · Rain or shine
Suitable for all ages · Free cancellation 24 h
1.5 h
not published by the operator
1692 sites · not stated by operator
In English, Spanish, French or Italian; 9 reviews so far
4.92 (9)
$80
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Not for limited mobility
In 4 languages · Free cancellation 24 h
1.5 h
Training Field
1/5 sitesSalem Village
Salem Village in Danvers: the parsonage and Ingersoll Ordinary
5.0 (4)
$25
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Not for limited mobility · Rain or shine
Salem Village sites, in Danvers · Free cancellation 24 h
2 h
Salem Train Station & Parking Garage
3/5 sitesMemorialCharter StWitch House · outside
Starts at the train station; 15 points in two hours
No reviews yet
$39.20
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
not stated by operator
Reaches 3 of the 5 sites of 1692 · Free cancellation 24 h
1.5 h
8 Central St
1/5 sitesWitch House · outside
Salem since 1626; the trials are one chapter
4.32 (56)
$25
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Wheelchair ok · Rain or shine
Passes the Witch House · Free cancellation 24 h
1 h
Charlotte Forten Park
1692 sites · not stated by operator
A comedy walk for adults 21+, one hour
No reviews yet
$35
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Wheelchair ok
Adults only, 21+ · Free cancellation 24 h
your pace
your own start
1692 sites · not stated by operator
$10 audio on your phone, 6 languages; rated 3.48
3.48 (12)
$10
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Wheelchair ok
In 6 languages · Free cancellation 24 h
2 h
318 Essex St
2/5 sitesMemorialWitch House · outside
Two-hour walk with spell practice, ingredients included
★ 4.53 (6)
$52
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Wheelchair ok · 1.5 miles
Spell practice on the walk, ingredients included · Free cancellation 24 h
about 2 h
your own start
3/5 sitesMemorialCharter StWitch House · outside
No guide, no ticket: four stops, about two hours
Free
Open the route
Prices checked 23 Sep 2026Sorted by rating; tours without reviews are listed, not ranked. “Not stated” means the operator does not list the site — it is not a “no”.
The eight walks that stay on the 1692 record

Salem Witch Tours That Stay on the 1692 Record

Eight of the Salem MA witch tours stay on the historical record of 1692 rather than on legends. None of them lists Proctor’s Ledge, the site confirmed in January 2016 as the place of the hangings; the Witch Trial Walking Tour and SEE IT ALL each name three of the five places, the most of any walk.

Secrets of Salem Hidden History Walking Tour
1/5 sitesCharter St
1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk
1692 sites · not stated by operator
Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts Walking Tour
1/5 sitesMemorial
Ultimate Witches and Witchcraft of Salem Walking Tour
1/5 sitesMemorial
Witch Trial Walking Tour
3/5 sitesMemorialCharter StWitch House · outside
Eight walks · up to 3 of the five sites each · from $25
Compare the eight
One day, no car, back for dinner

Salem Witch Tours from Boston

Six trips start in Boston. The fullest day is the coach tour from $190 with Salem Witch Museum and House of the Seven Gables entry; a small group of up to nine adds Hammond Castle and Proctor’s Ledge for $225. Doing it yourself costs $10 on the MBTA weekend pass — the Newburyport/Rockport line from North Station reaches Salem in about 36 minutes — plus a guided walk from $25.

Coach + guide8 hfrom $190
Small group + castle8 hfrom $225
Private car5–8.5 hfrom $151.47
Train on your own · Zone 3~36 min$10 wknd
Six trips · one includes museum entry · two go inside the Witch House
Compare Boston trips
Book earlier than feels necessary

Salem Witch Tours in October

Salem witch tourism peaks in October, and salem witch tours 2026 follow the festival calendar: the city of about 45,000 people counted 1.1 million unique visitors in October 2025. Haunted Happenings runs 1–31 October 2026, with the Grand Parade on Thursday 1 October at 18:30. Sunset moves from 18:25 on 1 October to 17:38 on the 31st, so a daytime walk has less light each week.

Oct 1–5↓ 6:25 pmparade Oct 1
6–12↓ 6:16 pmfestival month
13–19↓ 6:05 pmhats Oct 17
20–26↓ 5:54 pmfestival month
27–31↓ 5:43 pmHalloween Oct 31
Sunset times computed for Salem, MA; the festival runs October 1–31.
Plan October
Pick by what you have: an evening, kids, a budget, a map

Which Salem Witch Tour Fits Your Day

It depends on the one thing that decides your day: three walks are worth checking for an evening slot, one is marked by the partner for all ages, prices run from $10 to $385 in six tiers, and the walks start from nine places — each tile below opens the guide for that question.

Leave with something in your hands

Hands-On Salem Witch Tours and Workshops

Four sessions on GetYourGuide leave you with something to take home. The Witch City Broom Making Workshop is the most reviewed of them — 4.92 from 159 reviews, from $135 — and the Psychic Bewitched Tour pairs a walk past the Memorial and the Witch House with a tarot reading, from $140.

MOST REVIEWEDhands-on
hands-on
Witch City Broom Making Workshop
1.5 hOld Town Hall building
1692 sites · not stated by operator
4.92 (159)
Not wheelchairIndoors
from
$135
per person
Book the workshop
You make your own broom and take it home · Free cancellation 24 h
hands-on
hands-on
Psychic Bewitched Tour With Tarot Reading
3 hmeeting point not published
2/5 sitesMemorialWitch House · outside
5 (26)
Rain or shineMax 9
from
$140
per person
Book the workshop
Tarot and palm reading on the walk · Free cancellation 24 h

Four workshops sit next to the walks: a broom you make and take home, a walk that ends in practice, a tarot reading, a costumed photo session. Two of them — the practice walk and the tarot walk — pass the Memorial and the Witch House; the broom and the photo session stay indoors.

See all 4 workshops
About two free hours if you’d rather walk alone

Self Guided Salem Witch Tour

FREEMemorial → Charter Street → Witch House (outside) → Essex St · about 2 h

You can see three of the five places of 1692 for free: the Witch Trials Memorial, the Charter Street burying point next door (135 meters away) and the Witch House from the street. Going inside the Witch House costs $17; the Salem Witch Museum presentation costs $19 for an adult.

Open the route

Salem Witch Tours FAQ

Are salem witch tours worth it?

Yes, if you want the places of 1692 explained where they happened. A guide adds what a map cannot: who stood trial at which house, why the Memorial has twenty benches, where the judges are buried. The twelve walks on this site state between none and three of the five sites, and prices run from $25 for a guided walk. If you only want to stand at the Memorial and Charter Street, the free self-guided route does that without a ticket.

Winston salem witch tours?

There are no Winston-Salem witch tours in the sense this site covers. Winston-Salem is a city in North Carolina that grew from a Moravian settlement, and it has no connection to the witch trials. The trials of 1692 happened in Salem, Massachusetts, and in Salem Village, which is now Danvers. Every walk listed here starts in Salem, MA, except the Salem Village walk in Danvers and the day trips that pick you up in Boston.

Salem nh witch tours?

Salem, New Hampshire is a different town in a different state, known for the stone site called America’s Stonehenge rather than for 1692. None of the witch trials took place there, and none of the walks on this site go there. If a search result offers witch tours in Salem NH, check the address: the history, the Memorial and the Witch House are all in Salem, Massachusetts, about 36 minutes by train from Boston’s North Station.

How long is a salem witch tour?

Most guided walks run 1.5 to 2 hours; two run one hour — the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts walk and the Lucinda Lipol walk. Day trips from Boston take 5 to 8.5 hours door to door. Workshops run from 30 minutes for the costume photo session to 3 hours for the psychic walk with a tarot reading.

How long is the salem witch museum tour?

The Salem Witch Museum is not a walking tour: it is a seated presentation with life-size stage sets, followed by an exhibit. Presentations start every half-hour, with check-in fifteen minutes before, and the museum asks you to allow up to one hour for the visit. An adult ticket costs $19. On GetYourGuide the only listing that includes museum entry is the From Boston: Salem Witch Trials History Tour, from $190.

How far in advance should I book a salem witch tour in October?

Operators do not publish sell-out data, so we will not invent a number of weeks. What is known: Salem counted 1.1 million unique visitors in October 2025, the Charter Street burying point needs a free same-day reservation in October, and Witch Museum tickets for the next day go on sale online at 22:00. Check your date on the partner calendar as soon as it is fixed: every tour on this site shows free cancellation up to 24 hours before, so booking early costs nothing.

Do salem witch tours run in the rain?

Every walk that states a weather policy runs rain or shine: the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk, Secrets of Salem, Ultimate Witches, the Witch Trial Walking Tour, the Salem Village walk in Danvers and Salem 101 all say so, as does the psychic walk. The broom workshop and the photo studio are indoors. For the rest the operator does not state a policy. The Memorial and the burying point have no cover, so bring a jacket.

Are salem witch tours wheelchair accessible?

Only two operators say so in their own words: the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk describes a wheelchair-accessible, fairly flat route, and Salem 101 a relatively flat one. Secrets of Salem is listed as not suitable for wheelchair users, and Ultimate Witches, the Salem Witch Tour and the Salem Village walk as not suitable for people with limited mobility. The Witch Trials Memorial itself is accessible; the broom workshop has stairs.

Can I walk up to a salem witch tour without booking?

None of the operators on this site says whether it takes walk-ups, so the only safe answer is to book the date first — tickets arrive on your phone, and the guide checks them at the meeting point. In October, when Salem is at its busiest, that matters more. If you would rather decide on the day, the self-guided route needs no ticket at all, and the Memorial and Charter Street are free.

How many miles do you walk on a salem witch tour?

Only four listings state a distance. The 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk covers a little over a mile with eight to ten stops; Secrets of Salem and Ultimate Witches warn that they cover more than a mile; the walk that ends in a witchcraft practice covers 1.5 miles. The others do not say. Salem’s historic streets are compact: the Memorial is five minutes on foot from 210 Essex Street.

Is the Salem Witch Trials Memorial free?

Yes. The Memorial on Liberty Street is free and open from dawn to dusk. It was dedicated on 5 August 1992 by Elie Wiesel and honors twenty people executed in 1692 — nineteen hanged and Giles Corey, pressed to death. It is wheelchair accessible. Tour groups must not stand on the benches or walls, block the paths, or light candles. The Charter Street burying point is next door.

Which salem witch tours go inside the Witch House?

No walk in Salem goes inside; walks such as the Witch Trial Walking Tour and SEE IT ALL pass the house outside. Two day trips from Boston include entry: the Private Salem Day Trip with Witch House Entry and the Small-Group Halloween Season Day Tour. On your own, adult entry is $17, daily 10:00–17:00 from 15 April to 15 November and Thursday to Sunday in winter.

What is the cancellation policy for salem witch tours?

At the 23 September 2026 check, every tour on this site shows free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund, and all of them let you reserve now and pay later. Inside 24 hours the partner’s terms apply; the booking page shows them next to the price before you pay.

Are salem witch tours scary?

Daytime trials walks are history, not horror. The Memorial names each person executed and how they died, which some children find sobering, but nothing jumps out at you. Ghost walks are a different product built around legends and the dark; they live on our sister site. The Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts walk mixes the two — history and haunts — in one hour.

Can I take kids on a salem witch tour?

Yes, with a choice. The Witch Trial Walking Tour is the only walk the partner marks “suitable for all ages”; the Lucinda Lipol walk is adults only, 21 and over. On the From Boston coach tour children under five are not suitable. Private car trips from Boston fall under Massachusetts car-seat law up to 8 years or 57 inches, and seats are not provided.

OUR PICK
Secrets of Salem Hidden History Walking Tour
2 hours · 9 stops · 4.45 (208) · from $35 per person
Check dates
Stops at Charter Street Cemetery · Free cancellation 24 h
READ ON